Salami Crusted Quiche (Low Carb, THM-S)

Some nights (more than I care to admit) I just don’t feel like cooking a big dinner. Do you guys ever have those night? If not please share your energy with this chic!  I typically feel like this on days where I have been working on new recipes all day or on busy homeschooling days. I really wish there was a magic dinner fairly that would come to my rescue…but I have yet to meet her. Until she comes I will have to stick to my list of simple and quick recipes for these nights when I feel the “I don’t want to cook” blues coming on.

IMG_9630

This simple egg dish is one of those recipes that I do often on those nights. It is great to be done quickly so I can relax and enjoy some time with my family. Though it is quick and certainly not a fancy dish it is full of flavor and very filling.  My little guy is the “food critic” in the house and he gave this two big thumbs up. Which is awesome because though he is quick to offer praise he can become Gordon Ramsey (minus the potty mouth) in a flash if the dish is not to his liking.

With the crispy bottom “crust” made of Genoa Salami and a cheesy filling I think even Gordon would be a fan, or so I would hope. Not only is this Quiche delicious and packed with protein it only contains ingredients that you can find at your local grocery store. Ahh.. music to my ears.

Don’t let the title of this dish fool you into thinking it could get complicated as you can see from the picture the “Salami Crusted” part of the title comes from a brilliant whim I got to line my pie plate with the salami instead of chopping it up. This so-called “brilliant whim” may or may not have stemmed from the fact that I was in fact to lazy to even chop the salami up for the filling. But it makes me feel so much better to think it was a good idea than to admit the other truth, ha! So keep that part on the down low, would ya?

IMG_9648

This recipe is so easy and basic that you could add any flavorings that your family likes to change it up. My husband and I were talking one night and he suggested it would be tasty to even use the large round pepperoni for the crust and add your favorite pizza veggies to the filling for a yummy twist. I can see that being topped with a bit of “no sugar added” pizza sauce too. Not only can you change the flavors in this dish it is really easy to feed a crowd by simple doubling or tripling the recipe and baking it in a casserole dish instead of the pie plate. I call that a win!

Though I often make this type dish for my simple dinner nights, it would of course be wonderful at any breakfast table as well as a great low carb brunch option.  This version is “S” fuel if you are following the Trim Healthy Mama plan because of the whole eggs, cheese and cream. For sides with this dish you could pair it with a nice big salad or some non-starchy veggies. I vote you add more bacon too!

IMG_9650

So there you have it. My lazy, I mean my “brilliant” and easy Salami Crusted Quiche. Not fancy but oh so good and worth a try.  I hope you give it a go some time and let me know what your think or even how you changed it up for your family. As always I say “thank you” for stopping by my little table of three and I hope to see you back soon.

Be sure to follow the blog for more simple suppers and other recipes that will be coming soon!

Salami Crusted Quiche

  • 6 whole eggs
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream or half and half
  • 1 red bell pepper chopped and sauteed
  • 1/2 cup onion chopped and sauteed
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan Cheese
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded Monterrey Jack
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 black pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 oz of the larger thin sliced Salami

*Note: in the picture of my ingredients in the blog shows 8 eggs in my bowl but I adjusted it here in the recipe because the filling was to much for my nine inch pie plate.

Directions: For the crust spray your pie plate with the cooking spray and then use the circles of salami to line the sides and bottom overlapping the pieces some. Make sure you let the slices come up the sides a bit so they will be visible when the Quiche is cut. Set the “crust” aside when done and beat the eggs, cream and seasonings together until it is all mixed well. Once you have it all mixed add the veggies and two cheeses into the mix. After you have that all incorporated you are ready to add it to your crust. Bake the Quiche at 350 for about 40 to 45 minutes depending on your oven. When it is done it should be set all the way through with no wiggle when you move it.

 

One thought on “Salami Crusted Quiche (Low Carb, THM-S)

Leave a comment