Quick Fix “Chicken and Dumplings” (Low Carb, THM-S,FP option)

So, as I was teaching our morning lessons the the other day I felt the need for some chicken and dumplings hit me like a ten pound bag of flour! As we continued our lesson on fractions I simply could not get my mind to focus on the task at hand. I seriously had a vision of steaming hot chicken and dumplings blinding my teacher vision and making me want to cancel lessons and call declare it a snow day! Never mind that we had no snow at all and it was almost 60 degrees outside. Yes I will admit, my judgement is sometimes impaired by lack of food. Surely, I am not alone in this world.

But alas, I withstood my temptation and we eventually finished our lessons.  I then turned my attention to finding a way to have those dumplings without breaking the carb bank and without taking all day! After all I was hungry NOW and no way did I or my 7 year old (whom I had now wanting dumplings) see ourselves waiting for hours until I could whip some up. Seriously, not sure who’s “hangry” tantrum would’ve been bigger, mine or his. But, I can hold my own if need be, lol. No, I am not proud of that, but it is me when I need food.

IMG_0574

 

So as I started the hunt for something to make the low carb dumplings I had in mind I knew I had a few of the basics in the fridge. However, as I pulled out some chicken stock and shredded chicken and dumped them in a pot to start the process I was still stumped at what to do for the dumplings. After all what is this dish without dumplings right?

Just as I was about to give up my hopes of dumplings and surrender to the idea of a egg drop soup with chicken (an soup we eat sometimes) I saw a them! Behold…a package of low carb tortillas laying over on my kitchen counter. I had totally forgotten purchased them just the day before to make the Taco Bake from over at A Home with a Purpose. Since there were 8 and I would only need 6 of them for that recipe there were two large tortillas that I could play with! BTW, if you have not tried Jennifer’s Taco Bake (THM-S) recipe that I mentioned above, then you are missing out. It is a favorite here in our house and it also makes a great freezer meal too! Totally, jump over there and check her blog and the Taco Bake out! Five Cheers for Jennifer and her yummy recipes!!

IMG_0566

Now,  back to my vision of chicken and dumplings that were dancing in my head. I had actually heard of someone using regular tortillas to make their traditional version of this dish years ago so I figured why not give it a try. After removing the two large size tortillas from the package I then took my pizza cutter and sliced them both up into many small pieces. No, I did not keep them the same size and no I didn’t count out a certain number, sorry but keep in mind I was hungry and my rational thinking was gone by this point! Besides this recipe, if I can even call it that, is so simple that no exact science is needed. The only thing I suggest is that you keep in mind that eating only 1 tortilla (up to 6 net carbs) is suggested in a meal if you follow the THM plan. So, with that in mind this batch I made fed myself and my son well with two bowls each. Yum!

IMG_0573

Once you have cut the strips you can take them over to your check and broth that is boild on the stove.  I just slowly dropped the tortilla strips into the boiling pot and season it up with a pinch or two of spices. Again, there is no exact spices here so use any you typically like or the ones I suggest below. Once all the strip are in the broth just stir it well and let it simmer for abut 8 minutes. Lastly remove it from the heat and a tablespoon of butter and a splash or two of cream. This adds a rich and dreamy quality to the dumplings.  Now just serve it up! So simple but satisfying. This would be an THM “S” because the fat in the butter, cream and the tortilla.

If you were to eliminate the butter and dairy  then stick to chicken breast in a fat free broth you should be able to have it as an FP. Just double check all the ingredients that you use and make sure you stay under the 5 fat grams and 10 net carbs required of our friend the FP. The tortilla’s I use are 5 grams. So without the added fats I could still enjoy two bowls because it is so lite. Yay, I love a duel recipe!

IMG_0574

I told you that I am not even sure this counts as a recipes, remember? Recipe or not this quick fix lunch sure helped with my craving for chicken and dumplings so I hope it will do the same to you. I served ours with a side salad if you need something more.

Now, let me say this before you make these. No, these will not be the type of thick and fluffy dumplings Grandma or Mom made while you were growing up but they are a great “fast fix” to a craving. They are a simple way to have a low carb and on plan bowl of chicken and dumplings without the guilt. That makes this food dreaming mama happy!


 

Quick Fix Chicken and Dumplings (Low Carb, Low Fat, THM S, FP Option)

Serves: 2

**For single serving cut recipe in half.

Ingredients:

  • 6 to 7 cups of chicken stock
  • 7 oz. of shredded chicken breast
  • 2 lg. burrito size Mission Low Carb Tortillas
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder or flakes
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1/4 cup half and half or cream (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp butter (optional)

Note: To make this dish a THM “FP”  you will need to leave out the butter and cream. Also be sure to use fat free chicken broth. Remember FP servings need to stay at or under 5 fat/10 net carbs.

Directions: Begin by cutting two large low carb tortillas into small pieces or strips. On the stove bring your chicken stock, spices and chicken to a medium boil and slowly drop in your tortilla pieces or strips.  Once all your “dumplings” are in the broth turn down the heat and let the dish simmer for abut 8 minutes. Remove from the heat and add in the butter and half and half  and stir well for a rich and creamy broth.  Remember to leave out the butter and dairy for your liter version (FP). Serve hot. This should be enough for both people to enjoy a nice size serving. You can double or triple the recipe to feed a larger crowd if need be. Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment