Cashew Chicken Recipe Review (THM-S)

Chinese food is one of my favorite types of food and if you haven’t been around the blog enough to know that tidbit, you can hop over to my Chinese Pork and Broccoli and my Low Carb Chinese Fried Rice posts to get a glimpse into my love affair. In those posts you will find out that Chinese take out doesn’t love me as much as I love it. Those darn MSGs and processed carbs do a number on me and that has speared me forward on my search for easy and healthier DIY recipes for my favorite Chinese inspired dishes.

 

My Table of Three, Trim Healthy Mama Cashew Chicken, Recipe Review

Thankfully, for those times when I don’t feel like creating my own recipes there are dishes like this “Cashew Chicken” from the new Trim Healthy Mama cookbook out there that can easily satisfy my cravings. This tasty recipe can be found in the book’s “Family Skillet Meal” section on page 65. We love this recipe and I have made it several times now. With this recipe severing 6-8 people it is great for our small family of three with leftovers for our lunches the following day. There are a couple of ingredients that my family doesn’t like so I just leave them out. You might spot which ones are missing if you compare my pictures to the lovely photo in the book but I don’t always cook and tell.  The recipe page in my book has a permanent “dog ear” marking it for easy access.  Although, I have made it enough now to almost remember the recipe without the book, lol.

IMG_0374

This easy recipe is a great way to change up chicken when you are “stuck in a chicken rut”. Yep, there are those mad rhyming skills of mine again, lol! With the recipe falling into the “S” category you can use white or dark meat, making this an easy recipe to adjust to what you have on hand or what is on sale. I love recipes like that, don’t you?  I use boneless and skinless breast meat most often but strictly because I prefer it over the dark. I  have heard some rumbling from my husband about the lack of dark meat in my dishes lately so I plan on using some boneless and skinless thighs or combining the two varieties next time I cook this. I am really glad the ladies included this “S” meal in the cook book but with a few adjustments to the recipe I am thinking you could make it into an “E” dish if you wanted to have it with brown rice. I would suggest looking over the ingredient list carefully and adjusting the items with fat if you choose to convert it. Check the THM Plan Book for guidelines in the “E” fuels. One thing to remember is that in an “E” meal you need to keep your fat grams per meal at 5 or less.  I have not attempted to adapt this recipe myself because I really enjoy the flavor of the Sesame Oil in this dish.  I also save my energizing meals for my breakfast so I don’t see any such changes coming for us.

IMG_0373

There are a few steps to this recipe but they all are pretty simple, not to mention the recipe cooks up fairly quickly once you get all the components prepped. If I had to pick my least favorite part of making this recipe it would be the chopping of the meat and veggies but that isn’t hard for lazy mama to forgive when I taste the finished product. Yum!

I have learned to do some prep the night before while I am cooking dinner so when I go to cook it the next night it goes even faster, yay for faster meals! I have also made this as a freezer meal and it works nicely. I just cook my veggies until they slightly tender (you don’t want them to be mush when you reheat them).  Next, I cook my chicken thoroughly. Then I combine it all, except the sauce, and put it into a 9×13 disposable pan, cover with foil and freeze. When I am ready for the meal I put it in the fridge the night before and let it thaw until I am ready to reheat it for dinner time the next day. As you heat it through just throw the sauce together in the blender. Add the sauce to the “Cashew Chicken” and cook for 5 minutes or so. It tastes just as good pulling it out of the freezer. Win!!

Speaking of taste,this recipe is wonderful just as written but like I mentioned you can adjust the it if there are some ingredients that you or your family don’t like. I was even reluctant myself at first to try it due to the use of Gluccie as the sauce thickener. If you happen to have read my review on the Zapple Crumble then you might already know of my general feelings for Gluccie. The “slimy” feel that this thickening agent lends to my pallet is not one I wanted to taste again.  Yuck to Gluccie has been my motto for a while now.  Yes, I may be weird. I know this (I embrace it!) and I also know there are some of that say it isn’t slimy at all. So I was willing to try again. I am certainly glad I did because it is not overly detectable to me here which surprised and delighted me at the same time!

So if you are like me and you can admit that you are weird are not a fan of Gluccie take a chance on this one like I did. I don’t think you will be disappointed. However, if you don’t want to try Gluccie or if you don’t have any on hand I am confident that the dish would be just as tasty even without any thickeners. Your sauce may not coat your meat and veggies as much since it would be a looser consistency but not a deal breaker in my book.

IMG_0376

So if I wanted to express my feelings on this dish in Chinese I would say to you “它很美味” (Tā hěn měiwèi) and then I would thank Google for helping me look so smart, ha! But since I am just a little southern girl rambling in English I will just say “It is delicious”.

I am sure no matter if you eat it just as it is written in the book or if you make some adjustments to suit your family, you will agree that this is another great recipe from the Trim Healthy Mama Cookbook. Thanks for stopping by my table today for this recipe review. I hope it inspires you to get in your kitchen and get cooking!

If you have a recipe you would like me to try and review please leave me a comment below and I will see what I can do!

 

Leave a Reply

