Cranberry Apple Crisp (Low Fat,THM-E Friendly)

b

My inspiration for this beauty came from hours and hours of thought and precise planning. Days of working to get things just right. Okay, not really guys.  If you really want to know my inspiration for this treat is was the fact that I had a fruit bowl full of apples that were not being eaten. I hate waste and I couldn’t stand the thought of the apples going bad before we used them. I know, the first explanation sounded so much better right, professional almost. But honesty is best, so there you have it.

IMG_9925

I also had some extra cranberries on hand from another blog post so I thought I would add them in also. Just to add a twist to a classic apple crisp. So there you go… that’s how my Cranberry Apple Crisp was born.

Just look at that fruit, isn’t it so pretty with the red cranberries mixed in. They added just the right pop of flavor and color to this crisp. Their tartness works well with the sweetness of the apples and the spices in this recipe. It smelled divine as I cooked it on the stove!

IMG_9929

My topping is made up of oat flour and whole old fashion oats. I chose these two toppings because I had them on hand and they are typical for crisps.  Along with some spices and a little butter these two items tasted so good.  With the fruit and this oat topping this crisp dessert falls into the E category for Trim Healthy Mama. The butter is not enough to cause a crossover since it is just one tablespoon divided between the whole crisp.

I debated on calling this a “crumble” or a “crisp” as I was writing up this recipe. I have always considered them both the same thing and basically they are…fruit with a crumbled topping. Now, some things that I have read suggest that if the recipe includes oats then it is not a crisp…it is a crumble. But as for me, I say this is a crisp. Why? Hmm…well just because I like the way it sounded better than crumble. Lol, I am very scientific that way! Besides, I really think the name is not nearly as important as the taste and the taste here is fantastic.

Now, if you are a reading junkie like me or if  you want to be more “technical” about the differences of “crisps” and “crumbles” you can jump over here and read what the Huffington Post has to say about it.

IMG_9957

Not only is this crisp tasty and a “energizing E”, it is simple. I mean really simple. Basically the hardest part is peeling and chopping the apples. Everything else is “dumping” things in the pan and cooking it. Well there is one dump into a pan to cook the apples then a second dump into a bowl to mix the topping. I love treats like this, don’t you? Simple, quick and no special ingredients. That’s right, everything in this recipe can be purchased at your local grocery store.  How great is that? Three cheers for this Cranberry Apple Crisp!! Hip, hip, hooray! Hip, hip hooray! Hip, hip, hooray!

Well, I just got some crazy looks from my seven year old son. What? I don’t know why he would think that I am odd. I mean I just  spoke  I mean shouted my “hip, hips” out load as I typed them just now. What? You don’t do stuff like that? That’s not strange is it? Okay, okay maybe it is a little kooky, but not strange. That is my story and I am sticking to it!

IMG_9960
Crossover Warning! This tasty E dessert becomes a crossover if you decide to add a scoop of Carb Smart ice cream. But so good!

*Sighs*….I will end on that note before I let my kooky side show to much or admit that I have enjoyed a couple of these crossover plates in the past couple days lol. Before I go, let me say that I hope you enjoy this recipe and that you come back soon to check out more recipes. I always enjoying having you stop by for a chat around my table!

Be sure to follow the blog by clicking on the “Follow My Table of Three” and let me know your thoughts if you try this recipe!


 

Cranberry Apple Crisp

Oven Temp: 350                     Serves: 4

  • 4 medium apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup of fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup of Truvia or Pyure*
  • 1 donk of THM Pure Stevia (optional for extra sweetness)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • pinch of salt

Topping:

  • 1/2 c whole old fashion oats
  • 1/2 c oat flour
  • 1 Tbsp melted butter or coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp Truvia or Pyure*
*If you prefer to use a different sweetener you an use this conversion chart on the Trim Healthy Mama site to help you determine your amount.

Directions: Add your filling ingredients to pan and cook over medium heat until you apples become tender and the cranberries begin to pop.  The mixture will thicken and reduce as it cooks. Stir occasionally so it doesn’t scorch.   Taste and adjust the mixture to reach your desired sweetness. Once your filling is ready pour it into a 9 inch baking dish and mix together your topping ingredients. Be sure to mix the topping well before sprinkling it evenly over the fruit filling.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Enjoy warm or at room temperature.

 

 

 

One thought on “Cranberry Apple Crisp (Low Fat,THM-E Friendly)

Leave a Reply

