Low Carb Chinese “Fried Rice” (Low Carb, Gluten Free, THM S)

Now before you say “another Chinese Recipe already?”, remember I did warn you guys of my undying love for the stuff in an earlier post lol. So please forgive my obsession if you will (I know you guys are great like that). If you aren’t aware of the depth of that love let me give you the shortened version of that previous discussion in one sentence. I love the stuff to the moon and back! Judging from all the views and shares of my Chinese Pork and Broccoli I would say many of you feel the same way! Thank you all so much for stopping by that post by the way. I am so glad you have come back by my table to try this one out!

IMG_9420

Though I call this a “fried rice” dish it technically has no rice in it at all. What? Yep, you heard me correctly, no rice. Not a one grain! This is one of my favorite ways to use fresh cauliflower. Now, if you have not “riced” a head of this very versatile vegetable then be sure to stop over at my “how to” post on this topic. You can find my “How to Rice Cauliflower” post here. For the sake of not having yet other super long post I will just assume you guys have stopped by the post on it here and know how do it. Trust me, you don’t want me to get on one of my rambling spells!

IMG_9311

This recipe is an S fuel if you are following the Trim Healthy Mama plan and I like to pair it with my Chinese Pork (mentioned above) or a Sweet and Sour Chicken (all low carb and THM approved). If you like E meals you can totally covert it to an E by .reducing the cooking oils and using some brown rice if you use grains. I have even added some chicken breast to my E version so we have our lean protein in the same pan. This cauliflower version will work great on any low carb plan and it is a great alternative for those that are totally grain free. For this version of my fried rice I start by sauteing some lower carb veggies like green beans, celery, bell peppers, green onions in coconut oil until they are tender. I also throw in a couple of tablespoons of a frozen mix of peas and carrots. Don’t panic about these having a bit more carbs because when divided over the whole large batch this will not put your carbs over S limits. I stick to just 2 Tbsp.

IMG_9312

Once I have my veggies nice and tender I add the “riced” cauliflower to the pan. When you do this you may have to also add some more oil to your pan as you don’t want it to stick and burn. A little brown flavoring from the pan is good..but let me tell you burnt cauliflower rice is not a pretty smell. It is a good idea to keep an eye on it and stir often. Because of the size of the cauliflower pieces they will cook quickly so go ahead and add your seasonings and Bragg’s Aminos the to the mixture now so it has time to flavoring everything in the pan. You can use any seasoning you like if the ones I list below don’t make your taste buds smile. I always end up adding more spices than I have listed because we like bold flavor but start with the amounts I have listed and adjust from there.  Some have ask me if they could use a packet prepared “fried rice” season that they find at Wal-Mart on the Asian aisle but I am not sure what all is in those packets. If you want to check them out you can. Just make sure they do not have any “off plan” ingredients in the list of ingredients.

IMG_9319

 

The last step in this recipe is to scramble two whole eggs together in a bowl and pour them into the rice mixture after it has been cooking for about 10 minutes and stir it well until the eggs are all through the dish and cooked through. This step will only take around 2 to 3 minutes after you add the eggs. If you or someone in your family has an egg allergy you can totally leave this step out. We use the eggs but there has been a time or two when this was a throw together meal for me on a day when we were out of eggs. I bet you all know those “day before grocery day”, right). It was still delicious. I apologize for this picture being blurry. It is due the smoke rising from the pan as I was trying to get a good shot.  It is much harder than I though it would be to cook and take pictures so thanks for your grace here.

IMG_9435

To serve this rice just dish it up and garnish it with some toasted sesame seeds or some chopped green onions. You can even add some more Bragg’s (or Soy Sauce) to your taste. Remember you can just toss in some chicken and this can become a complete meal in a pan. Who doesn’t love only having one pan to wash? My hubby is our dish washer here (poor guy didn’t know what he was getting into) so he loves the condensing of pots! So once again I say thank you for stopping by my little table and taking the time to read and try these recipes. I hope you come back soon! Be sure to click on the Follow Button’ on the right hand side of the page for more recipes to come.


 

 

Chinese Fried Rice (Low Carb, Gluten Free, Grain Free, THM Friendly)

Serves: 5-6

  • 1 head of fresh cauliflower riced
  • 1 (12 oz) bag of frozen non-starchy veggie you like
  • 1 cup chopped read and green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 3 Tbsp of Bragg’s Aminos or Soy Sauce
  • 1 tsp of ground ginger or fresh (I always end up adding 2 tsp)
  • 1/2 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Sesame Oil (optional)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:  Cook your veggies in your coconut oil until you have your desired tenderness. Once your veggies are ready simply add your riced cauliflower. I would say about 3 to 4 cups of “rice” is what I normally get from a head. At this point you can add your spices and Sesame Oil to the pan and then stir the mixture well until it is all incorporated nicely. This is the point where I normally have to use my coconut oil to keep the rice from sticking but use your on judgement on how much more to add. Cook the mixture for about 7 to 8 minutes stirring frequently before adding in the two scrambled eggs. After the eggs are added and you have mixed them in well just allow the dish to cook a few minutes more until the eggs are cooked through.

5 thoughts on “Low Carb Chinese “Fried Rice” (Low Carb, Gluten Free, THM S)

  1. Hmmm. Tricky. My husband thinks he doesn’t like cauliflower. I’ve made him see the error of his tastebuds with asparagus and salmon. But not cauliflower yet. I’ll have to try this too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

