Fried Chicken Alfredo with Spaghetti Squash (S)

My husband and I started a type of low carb eating years ago and in the process I was on the look out for pasta alternatives. That search and low carb forums led me to Spaghetti Squash! The spaghetti squash looks more like a gourd than any squash I had seen and it falls into the “winter squash” category. Before you turn your nose up and run, just hear me out. I hope to change your mind!  If you are following the Trim Healthy Mama plan this recipe falls under the S fuel due to the fat in the fried chicken and the fat from the Alfredo sauce. This dish will work great for other low carb diets as well not just our beloved THM.

Let’s get started, so we can eat!  I always make a little extra at our meals so we can have left overs for lunches if we are lucky!  This meal warms up nicely! Before I tell you how i prepared the squash let IMG_9400me warn you that it can be very hard so be careful and hold it steady as you cut it so you don’t cut yourself. I have to be careful because there are NEVER  any bandages left in our home when I need one. All thanks to my six your old. I am sure everyone with children can relate to this. Okay, moving on since we are now watching our fingers.  Using a sharp knife slice off the top stem of the squash and then slice the squash into two equal halves. I usually stand it up on the flat end where I cut the stem off of to make it easier. Make sure your halves are as close to equal size as possible so they will cook evenly in the oven. You want the “noodles” that come out of both halves to be the same tenderness. Next, I brush each half with some olive oil and season it with garlic, salt and pepper to add flavor but this step is optional. Bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes until they are tender.

As the squash bakes in the oven it is a great time to move on to your other components of the dish.  As mine is baking I fry my chicken breast that I have coated with my oat fiber and seasoning mix. You can order the Trim Healthy Mama brand (which is my favorite) here. If you don’t have the oat fiber you can always use any low carb breading you enjoy.  I generally pan fry since I don’t have a deep fryer handy and my oil of choice is coconut oil (the refined kind so it has no flavor). Olive oil will work as well. For this recipes I used 3 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but f your family prefers dark meat then use boneless thighs.

Once you have fried your chicken cooked your squash should be ready. After your squash has cooled a by shred it by taking a fork and gently pulling it IMG_9407across the flesh of the squash. Repeat this step until you have all the squash out of the skins.  It really does come out easily and looking like spaghetti. Be sure you don’t over cook it or it will become more of a mush than noodles. A tasty mush by not very attractive on the plate. You can see from this photo the “noodle” like resemblance!

I really like to make my own Alfredo sauce from cream, butter and Parmesan cheese but I was in a rush tonight so I grabbed a jar sauce I had in the cabinet. Okay my purist sistas, you might cringing right now and I totally get that fresh homemade is better but we were starving and we still had a day’s worth of homeschooling to get done! So with that being said, I put on the “Drive Thru Sue” hat  I keep tucked away, and pulled out a jar of Ragu Alfredo.  Now, let me say here that all sauces are not created equal when it comes to carb counts so be mindful of that if your going to use a jar as I did. This brand has 2 net carbs per 1/2 cup so I didn’t feel like that was a bad trade-off for the convenience factor.

After heating the sauce all that is left to do is adding some of the squash noodles to a plate and topping it off with some chicken and sauce. If you prefer your chicken not to be on top then you can always serve the squash on the side . See, how easy that is? I really love this dish and the fact that I can have my “pasta” and not the carbs! I hope you enjoy it and I would love to hear from you if you try it!

Fried Chicken Alfredo (Feeds 3 to 5 people)

  • 3 large.skinless, boneless chicken breast cut in half
  • 2 medium Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 jar of Ragu Alfredo Sauce (or make your own)

Chicken Coating

  • 1/3 cup of Oat Fiber (I get mine from Trim Healthy Mama’s website)
  • 1/2 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp of onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp of salt

*Feel free to add or use your favorite spices to this mixture. It is strictly up to your family’s tastes.

Directions:

Squash: cut the stem off of your squash and then cut them into equal halves. After scooping out the seeds and fibers brush with olive oil and lay flesh side down on a baking sheet. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 400 degrees or until your desired tenderness is reached. After the squash has cooked and cooled take a fork to “shred” the flesh into a serving bowl. Top with the warm Ragu sauce and your chicken. This would also be so good finished off with a little fresh Parmesan!

Chicken: coat your chicken breasts in the oat fiber mixture or breading of your choice and fry in batches until done. The chicken can be served on top of Alfredo or on the side.

IMG_9401

 

3 thoughts on “Fried Chicken Alfredo with Spaghetti Squash (S)

Leave a Reply

