Chinese Pork and Broccoli (Low Carb,Gluten Free, THM Friendly)

I love Chinese Food! I mean really love it!  I crave it some days like it was the air I breath! Well…my husband would say I am being a little dramatic when I take it that far but this should give you guys a good idea of the depth of my love, right? Though I could eat it almost everyday the takeout versions have always made me feel so extremely tired and sluggish right after I eat it. That is what has inspired me lately to find healthier ways to create some low carb, sugar free versions that work well with my eating plan.

IMG_9382

In this recipe I used boneless pork loin chops I had in the freezer. You want a tender cut of meat for this dish since the meat cooks fast. Tougher cuts of meat would not have time to tenderize and it would result in a very tough dish.

 To start  I cubed the pork into about 1 inch pieces but it doesn’t have to be an exact measurement. You just want the pieces to be around the same size so they will cook evenly as you fry them. Nobody wants to bite into a piece of raw pork! After I finished cubing the pork I seasoned it with salt and pepper and set it aside.

Oat Fibered Pork

 I do all my coating these days with a simple mixture of Oat Fiber mixed with my favorite seasonings like garlic powder, onion powder and salt. Please don’t confuse this coating with Oat Flour. Oat Fiber is a great low carb flour alternative which is high in fiber like flax. You can find a great deal on Oat Fiber here.  To start my mixture I add 1/3 cup of Oat Fiber in my dredging bowl with my seasonings of choice (garlic and onion powder but you what you and your family like). I toss each piece of pork in the mixture and set aside until done.

Fried Pork Nuggets

After I have all my pork coated then I fry up the pork nuggets in coconut oil. These juicy pieces of pork are hard to resist once fried so if your like me you will have to keep little hands from grabbing for them.  It was hard for me not to eat them all before I got the dish together.  Make sure when you are frying your pork you don’t over crowd your skillet. You want them to fry and get evenly brown and fully cooked through.

IMG_9387

Typically your sauces on Chinese Food are full of hidden carbs and sugars but not with this one!  It is very easy and would work great for any low carb or sugar-free diet. It is also great on chicken and beef as a dipping sauce.  To make the sauce add in all your sauce ingredients to your pan on a medium high heat.  The hardest part is waiting until it has reduced and thickened. That time will vary so just keep an eye on it as it cooks.

IMG_9395

As your sauce thickens you can steam your broccoli and have it ready to toss together when the sauce is done. After this point it goes pretty quickly because after your sauce is reduced you just toss your fried pork, steamed broccoli into a nice size bowl Then for the magical part!  I usually add a  few tablespoons at the time of the sauce and toss it real well. This way I don’t drown it in the sauce.  I for one love my meat to be dripping with the gooey sticky sauce! However, I know not every one will be a saucy as me, lol so this process will be strictly up to you and your family’s preference in sauce ratio.

IMG_9435

 Now, see how easy that was? If you  need a side dish this recipe pairs nicely with my cauliflower “fried rice” which you can find here. Also another great thing about this dish is that it makes great left overs that taste great reheated or cold straight from the fridge.



 

Chinese Pork and Broccoli (Low Carb, Gluten Free, THM S)

Sweet and Tangy Sauce

  • 1/3 cup Truvia or Pyure
  • 1/3 cup Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 4 to 5 Tbsp of Reduced Sugar Ketchup
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp of Ginger juice or ground ginger
  • 3 Tbsp of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)

Pork and Broccoli

  •  2 1/2 lbs of pork cubed into 1 inch pieces. (Use a tender cut of pork)
  • 2 (12 oz) bags of frozen broccoli florets
  • 1/3 cup of Oat Fiber for breading (add more if needed)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt

Directions: In a bowl or plastic baggie or bowl add in your Oat Fiber and seasoning and mix well. Once mixed start tossing in a few pieces of the cubed pork at a time and toss them so they get coated well. I like to get all the pork breaded before I start the frying process so I am not stopping and starting. Once your meat is fried set it aside and add all your sauce ingredients into a pan on medium heat.  Bring the sauce to a low boil stirring often while it reduces. You will know your sauce is ready when it is thicker and coats the back of a spoon. Steam your broccoli florets while your sauce is thickening. Once all your components are ready toss the meat and broccoli into a large mixing bowl.  Begin adding your sauce a few tablespoons at a time as you toss until you have reached your desired sauciness (yes, I know this is not a real word but oh so fitting don’t ya think!).  When serving I like to garnish this dish with toasted sesame seeds and green onions.

6 thoughts on “Chinese Pork and Broccoli (Low Carb,Gluten Free, THM Friendly)

Leave a Reply

